The latest is that Google has come up with some social features now, which will enable your friends to know what is ranked high in the search results that are viewed by you. In order for this feature to gear up, Google first requires to know the social connections of all its users. This is not something which a lot of people using Google originally had in mind, nor does it seem to be a core feature of the company itself.
This new tool is called the +1 button, and by clicking it, you will get to know the pages and search results you seem to appreciate the most. This button will appear on every single page that is listed in the search results and also on other sites across the internet. Whenever you click +1, this will lead to a boost in the rankings of that particular page. As far as Google is concerned, all those people who are in the list of your email, or added in your instant messaging services will be considered as your friends.
Google has informed that very soon this feature will start appearing on other products owned by them too, such as Maps and YouTube. If looked upon closely, the +1 button is similar in function and design to the “like” button that appears on websites such as Facebook, enabling people to share content and their views about it. According to the reports by Facebook, it has been found that more than 250 million people connect to external sites every week, by simply clicking on the like button.